No Image Available

Wrath Goddess Sing – Maya Deane

 Author: Maya Deane  Category: Fantasy, Historical Fiction  Publisher: William Morrow  Published: January 1, 2022  ISBN: 9780063161184  Pages: 480  Language: English  Tags: Trans Woman / Femme AuthorTrans Woman / Femme Character(s) |  Alibris  Amazon  Bookshop org  Kobo  Libro.fm  Publisher  QLL  Find in a Library
 Description:

Drawing on ancient texts and modern archeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world, perfect for fans of Song of Achilles and the Inheritance trilogy.

The gods wanted blood. She fought for love.

Achilles has fled her home and her vicious Myrmidon clan to live as a woman with the kallai, the transgender priestesses of Great Mother Aphrodite. When Odysseus comes to recruit the “prince” Achilles for a war against the Hittites, she prepares to die rather than fight as a man. However, her divine mother, Athena, intervenes, transforming her body into the woman’s body she always longed for, and promises her everything: glory, power, fame, victory in war, and, most importantly, a child born of her own body. Reunited with her beloved cousin, Patroklos, and his brilliant wife, the sorceress Meryapi, Achilles sets out to war with a vengeance.

But the gods–a dysfunctional family of abusive immortals that have glutted on human sacrifices for centuries–have woven ancient schemes more blood-soaked and nightmarish than Achilles can imagine. At the center of it all is the cruel, immortal Helen, who sees Achilles as a worthy enemy after millennia of ennui and emptiness. In love with her newfound nemesis, Helen sets out to destroy everything and everyone Achilles cherishes, seeking a battle to the death.

An innovative spin on a familiar tale, this is the Trojan War unlike anything ever told, and an Achilles whose vulnerability is revealed by the people she chooses to fight…and chooses to trust.

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

The Trans Literature Database
Average rating:  
 0 reviews

Other Books From - Fantasy

About the author

Maya Deane

A graduate of the University of Maryland and the Rutgers-Camden MFA, Maya lives with her fiancée of many years, their dear friend, and two cats named after gods. She is a trans woman, bisexual, and fond of spears, books, and...

Read More

 Back
Recent Additions

Latest Blog Post
OKPsyche

Kobo Plus has plenty of books by and about trans & nonbinary people to fulfill your reading needs. After a brief description of the service, I’ll list some of the trans titles available on Kobo Plus now. Kobo Plus is…